

EDINBORO STATE COLLEGE

WARREN CAMPUS

TENTH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION

APRIL 30 - MAY 5





HISTORY

Robert Hockenberry lit up his well-seasoned pipe and asked, "Do you think it would be possible to have a college in Warren"? In a sense, this was the beginning of Warren Campus of Edinboro State College. Mr. Hockenberry, Assistant Superintendent of schools in multi-district Warren County, put the question to the Warren County Group. This organization of educators and school patrons met for informal discussions of a wide-range of educational subjects. The time was early 1960 when colleges everywhere received applications from more qualified students than could be accommodated.

Dr. Everett Landin, Supervising Principal of Northern Area Schools, was appointed chairman of a study group committee to investigate the needs for any possibilities of a regular schedule of college courses in Warren, the committee conferred with regional college administrators, conducted an interest survey among high school seniors, and speculated constantly on the attitude of prospective students to a college without a campus or a faculty in residence. The late Dr. Thomas Miller, President of Edinboro State College, was among the college administrators outlining course possibilities to the study group. He was convincing.

Although the organization of the county into a single school district had not taken place, there was a Warren County School Board which was selected as the agency to make an official approach to Edinboro State College with "hope that some classes could start by September, 1962."

This hope was realized when the first courses began in Warren Area High School, September 12, 1962. Classes started at 4:00 P.M.; there were 36 students. Dr. Carl Whipple, then Superintendent of Warren Borough Schools and the Warren Area Joint Board and Joseph Passaro, Principal of Warren Area High School, were most cooperative and supportive in establishing the Warren Campus.

To students and to people of Warren County, one person is always associated with their college. He is Frank Johnson, who left his faculty post on the main campus to be director of the new center. His enthusiasm has been outstanding throughout the first decade of higher education in Warren County.

The first classes were taught by faculty who made long commuting drives over winter roads from the main campus of Edinboro State College, In 1964, classes were moved to the East Street School building in Warren, and by 1965 there were two resident faculty. The liaison committee, appointed as an advisory group during the first years of the school became incorporated in 1965 as Warren Higher Education.

During the Administration of Dr. Chester McNerney, President of Edinboro State College, the Warren Campus continued to grow and serve academic needs of the area. Under his leadership, the many legal details were met which transferred a building and grounds of Warren State Hospital to Edinboro State College to give a true campus to Warren Center. The building was renovated and opened for classes in 1971.

The decade has been marked by change in student life, but cooperation and appreciation of the campus in Warren County has been constant.

Mr. John C. Pittenger, (Ex-Officio) Secretary of Education	Harrisburg
Mrs. Jane Conaway	Warren
Mrs. Nancy Simon Diehl	Greenville
Mr. Max P. Gabreski	Oil City
Mr. Louis J. Morocco	Farrell
Mr. Forest W. Hopkins	North East
Dr. George H. Ledger	Union City
Mr. Grosvenor S. McKee	Meadville
Mr. Wesley G. Reitze	Meadville
Mr. Carl Welch	Meadville
Mr. William P. Rose	Greenville
Honorary Life Member	
Miss Debbie Dowling	Erie
Student Representative	

EDINBORO ADMINISTRATION

Dr. Chester T. McNerney Mr. James Dronsfield Dr. James McKinley Dr. John K. Fisher Mr. Ralph I. Berlin

Dr. Jon Yon

Dr. Robert Gates

Mr. Vaughn E. Herbel Mr. Larry Hill

President, Edinboro State College Vice-President for College Development Vice-President for Academic Affairs Assistant Vice-President for Academic Affairs **Director of Summer Sessions** Coordinator of Branch Campuses Vice-President for Student Personnel Services Vice-President for Administrative Services **Business Manager President Student Government**

WARREN CAMPUS ADMINISTRATION

Mr. Frank R. Johnson	Administrative Director
Mr. Thomas E. Walsh	Director of Admissions and
나온데 감정에 뒤집을 걸려야 하면서 다 있었다.	Student Services
Mrs. Ann B. Lutes	Registration and Records

PROGRAM

Master of Ceremonies

Invocation

Dinner

Welcome

Frank R. Johnson

Dr. Carl E. Whipple

Remarks

Introduction of Head Table

Introduction of Edinboro Guests

Remarks

Ruth Anderson, President, Student Government

Dr. Chester T. McNerney

Irving O. Murphy

Father John T. Carter



Benediction



Mr. Charles R. Tranter

Dr. Ross Porter

MENU

Relish Tray

Breast of Chicken on Ham Slice

Potatoes

Asparagus

Rolls, Butter, and Coffee

Sherbet

WARREN CAMPUS FACULTY

Mr. Richard Andersen Mr. Roy Brant Mr. Daniel Harpster Mr. Wallace Jewell Mr. Frank Johnson Mr. Wayne Joslyn Dr. Cyrus Lee Mrs. Beulah Polley Dr. Robert Polley Mr. Robert Russell Dr. David Russo Mrs. Joy RyKoskey Mr. Bryant Schattle Mr. Thomas Walsh Mr. David Wilcox Dr. Eugene Williams

Miss Margaret McCutchen, Librarian

WARREN HIGHER EDUCATION CORPORATION

PRESENT MEMBERS: Mr. William Allen Representative Miss Ruth Anderson Student Representative Mr. Samuel Bonavita Mr. Warren Carr Mr. Frank Christy Asst. Treasurer Mrs. Donald Conaway Mr. Lewis Crippen Treasurer Mr. Richard Danzig Mr. William Deutschlander Mrs. John Fanaritis Vice-President

Dr. Lawrence Krespan Mrs. Ann B. Lutes Secretary Mr. James Marshall Mrs. David Martin Mrs. Robert Orth Mrs. James Perkins Miss Marsha Petzold Mrs. Clair Proud Mr. Richard Smith Mr. Charles Tranter Dr. Carl Whipple President

PAST MEMBERS: Mr. Charles Anderson Dr. Thomas Barrett Mr. Chester Christensen Mr. Gail Cobb Mr. Plummer Collins Mr. John Eberly Dr. Harold D. Guthrie Mr. Robert D. Hockenberry Dr. John Jacka Mr. Robert Kinney

Mr. Harold Landin Mr. John Mallery, Jr. Mr. Felix Matthews Mr. David Merenick Mr. Joseph Passaro Mrs. David Potter Mr. Ralph Santo Mr. John Shaffer Mr. Howard Thompson